History of Magic in North America

Today J.K. Rowling debuted the first of four brand new pieces of writing on Pottermore, the self proclaimed digital heart of the Wizarding World created by Rowling. Some may think it is a coincidence, but I’m convinced that she chose today because it is International Women’s Day. Both a day celebrating women and new things written by Rowling have made today much better than any usual Tuesday.

Now that I have read the first piece, entitled Fourteenth Century – Seventeenth Century, a few times I am ready to comment on it.

I love that the American equivalent of Muggle is No-Maj, which sounds a lot like Nomad; it reminds me of Native Americans and the people who called the continent “home” before the Europeans did. I love that Jo focused solely on the people who were here before the Europeans thought they found new land; it is so important that she started with the native people. I love that she touched on the danger that jealousy created between some of the No-Maj and the wizards; but I also love that she talked about the witches and wizards that were revered for their power. Though maddeningly short, the first installment about the History of Magic in North America was just what it should have been. It described the first witches and wizard on this continent and gave their history in a way that only J.K. could.

Like I said, I wish it could be longer. But if it were up to me, there would be an entire textbook on the subject.

See for yourself my friends

The trailer had me freaking out

 

Leave a Reply

