I like the word Niche 

I feel like, for the last few years of my life, my goal has been to find my style, my comfort level, my niche; essentially I’ve been looking for myself, to find out who I am and who I will grow up to be. But if I had to choose, I’d want to embody equal amounts grace and edge. 

I’ve always dreamed of exuding the kind of elegance and sophistication that women like Julie Andrews and Kelly Bishop’s character, Emily Gilmore, on Gilmore Girls, tend to carry themselves with. Even if I don’t have a Chanel two piece suit to sport, I feel like the pure confidence they radiate comes from within. 

While I’m too clumsy to be the queen of Genovia, and I’m not a huge fan of the classic Chanel Flap Bag, I feel like my personality might be able to pull off a elegant edge. I’m thinking a classical style with a little bit of leather. A pure black brogue shoe with a spike here and there. Kind of like a crisp white button down with black jeans and a leather jacket, or a black and white shirt with a black velvet choker necklace and long chained cameo. I feel most confident when I’m a mix of classic and modern, I think. So that’s how I tend to dress. 

I just remembered that I have a Polyvore. Polyvore is a really cool website that collects clothes/accessories/home products etc into one website. You can also create “sets” which are collections of pictures. Here are a few sets I’ve made over the last year or two, I feel like they define what I like.   

    
   
So, as I get older and I grow into myself and my style, I don’t think I’m going to change very much. I feel like, at 23 and 3/4 years old, this is what it’s going to be, and I’m ok with that. But I’m still going to try and walk through a room full of people and not trip. Here’s my reference.

Leave a Reply

