Newsflash: I’m extremely lazy

So I tend to look for the easiest and most efficient way of doing things. Sometimes they just don’t work out.

Enter: the three ingredient pancake. Maybe it’s just me,  but unless one of those ingredients is pancake mix, this ain’t gonna work out well in my favor.

While at work this week, I happened across this BuzzFeed video. Not one of my best ideas to try.

First of all, the only ingredients you’re supposed to use are a banana, two eggs and cinnamon. My first issue was that they didn’t give an amount for any of the ingredients, but I wanted to try anyway because who doesn’t love pancakes?

For prep, You will need:

  • A bowl
  • 2 eggs (according to the video)
  • A banana
  • Cinnamon

First things first, peel the banana and mush it with a fork. I forgot to take a picture of this because I was frustrated by how annoying it is to mush a banana with a fork. Stupid banana.

Next, crack the eggs into the mushed banana and mix them together. At this point, I kind of began realizing this would be very different than the video. My egg to banana ratio was way off. I used extra large eggs, which I don’t think I should have done but THE VIDEO HAD NO VOCAL INSTRUCTIONS. That made things hard.

Add some cinnamon, how much is obviously up to you, since we get no real instructions. I put 3 or 4 shakes in there.

Mix up your concoction. Spray some cooking spray on a frying pan just in case (I used Pam) and put it on the front burner on medium. Medium is usually best so that the outside doesn’t burn before the inside is cooked. 

This was really different than what the video’s pancake mix looked like. So this was my solidification that I was in the wrong somewhere.

Here is where you’re on your own. I put all of my mix in at once which was a terrible idea. I was pretending I was in the video and it was early when I tried this. I should’ve had coffee before. UGH, I mean really, look at this mess guys.
As if this wasn’t bad enough, I tried to get fancy with the flipping and then BOOM mess, broken pretend pancake everywhere. And that’s what it looked like when I finally got it into a plate. 

Just so you’re aware, I did not eat this. I tried it and decided that was enough. I did try to get my 10 year old cousin, James, to eat it but even he took issue with that.

I’m going to try to keep my food game somewhere near what normal people cook but I’m having issues. I’ll be putting all of my trials (both good and bad) on here so you guys can laugh at my mistakes.

Bon appétit mes amis!

One comment

Leave a Reply

