In a cabin in the woods

I haven’t really been in the mood for life today. It wasn’t a bad day, but I didn’t want to do things. I didn’t want to be home and I didn’t want to be at work. Not because I was angry or upset or anything.

I think I just wanted to be, but in an existential way.

I wanted to sit in a home I don’t own yet, in a nook by the window with a fur blanket and a bunch of comfy pillows and I wanted to read and drink coffee and be away from the world for a while. I don’t really know why, I just really liked the idea of being here nor there nor anywhere at all. Away from life as I know it right now.

Don’t get me wrong, I very much enjoy my life; I am luckier than most and I know that. But do you ever just want to take a break from life for a little? Be alone in the woods in a cabin that’s almost loft-like and just drink tea and coffee all day and write on a type writer and read something and just be. I would like that, I think.

Leave a Reply

