“I do a great impression of a hot dog”

11-04

“So avoid using the word ‘very’ because it’s lazy. A man is not very tired, he is exhausted. Don’t use very sad, use morose. Language was invented for one reason, boys – to woo women – and in that endeavor, laziness will not do.”

One of my favorite quotes about writing. I thought I would share it first…

I’d like to preface this post by saying I am not really the kind of person who is affected greatly by the deaths of celebrities. Of course I get sad, but it can be a little difficult to mourn someone you never knew.

I’d also like to say, this is not one of those times.

Robin Williams was an icon. He was a legend, a household name, the funny uncle you only saw on Thanksgiving and Christmas but who made family gatherings bearable. He was the guy I wanted to be like when I got older and he was an amazing comedian. He was good at what he did, and what he did was make people happy. Williams has affected the lives of millions during his 63 years on this earth and everyone thought he would continue to affect lives well into his 300’s (or at least I did… genies can’t die.)

I am still having a hard time wrapping my head around his death. He is a legend! Legends never die!!! While the details surrounding his death are still fuzzy, there is one thing that is certain:

Robin Williams, the funniest man on earth, suffered from depression.

Letting that sink in has done more damage to me than I care to admit. If someone who was that loved and who made that many people laugh, could suffer from depression… I don’t want to even think of what it could do to the average person.

At the moment, my tumblr has become a little baby shrine to Robin Williams.

Bless that man and all of the joy and laughter he has brought to the world. I hope he finds the peace that avoided him on earth. I hope he is finally happy. He brought happiness to millions of people. It’s his turn to smile.

Rest in the happiest, sun shiniest Peace Robin Williams. aladdin-genie

 

Leave a Reply

