Make way for the Princess

WGP

I love reading. I’ve always love reading, (the first word I ever read was Pizza, according to my mom. That’s completely irrelevant. I just think it’s funny and like sharing it.)

I read as much as I possibly can. I always have a book with me. I buy purses based on the amount of books I can stick in it. I’m weird, I get it.

But the thing that always freaks me out is that, while reading a book, any book, I begin to think, speak and write the way the author writes (I do this with accents too actually.. I’m very weird. I know.)

Right now I’m waiting for two awesome books to come out. One is the third and final installment of the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness, The Book of Life, which comes out July 15th (I’ve already hit up the book store in Grand Central station, which is a block from where I work, and asked them to put one on hold for me… they thought I was crazy because I asked them in February. But I’ve been waiting tooooo long for this man, too long;) and the other is Psychos, the second book by Babe Walker which comes out April 29th, (I read the first book, White Girl Problems, last year, andthought it was fictional, but after stalking her on every social medium she partakes in, I’m starting to think it was cold, hard fact.)

I’m extremely excited about both, obviously… they’ve given me something to look forward to while sitting in my dismal cubicle staring out a window (that’s across the hall and no where near me) to see the beautiful day that I cannot enjoy due to the fact that I apparently get paid to “work and not tan.” Whatever. I actually enjoy my job… I just enjoy the sun more. whoops

Anyway, after reading the first two chapters of Psychos, which she “leaked” on her website (is it technically still a leak if she did it?) I realized how good this second book will be. And since reading the chapters I’ve begun checking her blog regularly. as I wrote this, she favorited my tweet to/about her and I’m freaking out… ok hi.

But the reason I began writing this post was to talk about the fact that I have begun to think they way she writes… and I love it. I feel like the Babe Walker of BabeWalker.com, the one I’ve read so much about, is a total badass in her own way, and I definitely want to be considered a badass. And I will most likely read her first book a few times in the next 3 weeks in order to prepare myself for the glamor and sophistication that will be Psychos; (just so you know, I wanted to spell it ‘glamour’ but Firefox said it was incorrectly spelt and I couldn’t handle the stupid little red squiggle under it.)

So to conclude this mess of a post, I now know that, for the next 19 days, I will be acting like the princess that I am, while speaking as if I were Babe Walker, in order to fully prepare myself to appreciate Psychos and everyone else is just going to have to get over it.wgp2

Leave a Reply

