Au Revoir

798px-Eiffel_Tower_at_night_from_bellow_-_20051021

(via)

I start a lot of new posts on here and then forget them, so that the next time I look at that particular post, the timing is way off and it’s obsolete.

But this is one post I won’t stop writing.

I’m going to Paris and Rome in November.

I AM LEAVING THE COUNTRY FOR 7 WHOLE DAYS.

I’m so excited I could cry.

A few weeks ago I received an email from Groupon mentioning a trip to Dubai. Airfare and hotel were included and the price was pretty decent. I’ve wanted to go Dubai for years and I thought I had finally figured out a guilt-free way of getting there. But as with most things I get excited about, it ended up not working out.

I asked my parents to come with me, we were going to make a family vacation out of it because my mother shares the same desire to visit the world. But my siblings have school and the cheaper ones began selling out quickly and all of a sudden, my guilt-free adventure slipped right through my fingers and was gone. I was upset but in the back of my mind I knew something would go wrong and I wouldn’t be going to the Middle East so it was easier to move on.

The next day, while still on Groupon, I found a trip to Paris and Rome. Like the Dubai trip, airfare and hotel was included, and again, the price was relatively decent. So I tried again.

The only person who could come with me was my boyfriend, Nick. I asked him if he would want to come and he decided that it would be a fun time. So I asked my mom. She was not pleased with the idea, my boyfriend and I in another country together, alone. After a little love/harassment, she told me that it was ultimately up to my father. I slept on it and asked him the next morning. Over the phone he responded with the dreaded “we’ll talk about it when I get home.”

I wasn’t as upset as I thought I would be. Again, I knew I wouldn’t be able to go because that tends to be how things work out for me. So I got over it and went to work.

At about 10am I got a call from my dad. “Go!” he said, he was ready to let me go because he knew how much my brain needed this, and he didn’t want the trips to sell out again, like they did with the first trip.

And that was it. That night, Nick came over and we bought our vouchers. I almost cried I was so happy. The next day, I called the company to redeem the voucher and book our tickets. I was bubbling over with excitement. Once on the phone, everything was flowing smoothly. The planner I spoke with was extremely helpful and answered all of my questions. Finally, I was ready to book our tickets and my happiness came screeching to a halt.

I needed our passport names/numbers.

Ok, that’s not terrible. I’ll call Nick and find mine, then call you back. Thank you.

HAHA nope. Nick doesn’t have a passport.

So now, I’m stuck with two vouchers and no passport. Cool.

Finally, after about 2 and a half weeks, my mom and I convinced him to go to the post office to see my mother’s friend who would help him get a passport quickly.

Once he did, I called the company back and gave them the name that would eventually be on Nick’s passport… once it came in. Shhhhh.

So that’s it.

In exactly 267 days, 2 hours and 6 minutes I will be on a plane on my way to poke the Eiffel Tower and throw a rock into the dungeons of the Colosseum, and I couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

