My Trip Around the (Disney) World

Howdy!

I am officially back from Disney World and am definitely feeling that after-vacay depression. Florida was so wonderful; I missed my best friend, who now works/lives down there (and is probably never coming home) and I’m so glad I got to see her, even if it was only for a little bit.

This shortened work week was pretty awesome but now I want to talk about my Disney experience!

I traveled down with my new boyfriend, who happens to be my best friend (below with the Minnie ears on.) I knowww, I decided to date my best friend- how lame/cliche right?!

Anyway, Nick and I touched down in Orlando at about 9:30am on Thursday, October 10th. We got slightly lost in the Orlando International airport while trying to find Disney’s Magical Express but eventually made it down there and got on the bus headed for DISNEY WORLDDDDD.

photo_2photo_3

We were in our hotel on Disney property by about 10:30 and met up with friends who had arrived the day before. We had breakfast, I changed into shorts (the weather is GORGEOUS down there right now) and headed to Hollywood studios where we eventually met up with my best friend, Breanna and her roommate… who’s name escapes me at the moment. Whatevs.

photo_4

I had a staring contest with a Storm Trooper, went on a back-lot tour (where I was a “volunteer” because my jerk of a friend made it that way, got soaked, and then had to continue the tour,) ate a Mickey ice cream, screamed myself hoarse on the Tower of Terror ride, got an iced coffee with Baily’s in it and road the Areosmith ride, which was way better than I expected.

photo_5photo_3 (2)photo_2 (2)photo_1 (2)photo_2photo_3photo_1

Overall the first day was really fun! Then we went to dinner all together at the Polynesian, one of the hotels in Disney World. There I got a giant pineapple drink (literally) ate delicious food and hung out with my friends, which was definitely very necessary.

photo_4 (2)

The next day we started at Animal Kingdom.

photo_5 (2)photo_2 (6)photo_3 (6)photo_1 (6)photo_4

I saw monkeys, road Expedition Everest, went on a safari, met Pocahontas, and then headed back to Magic Kingdom to see the awesomeness that is Disney World during the Halloween season.

What made it even cooler was that Nick and I (who had forced everyone else to head to MK without us so that I could wait on the ridiculously long line to meet Pocahontas) met the nicest woman in the world who gave Nick and our friend Steve free tickets to the Halloween party that the girls had decided to go to. So fun.

Ok so Magic Kingdom included eating a giant turkey leg, riding Splash Mountain and ogling everything… obviously.

photo_1 (3)photo_1 (2)photo_2 (3)photo_5 (6)photo_3 (3)nick wasn’t ready for this picture… sucksphoto_2 (2)photo_3(1)

That night was Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween party, for which, my two friends and I dressed up as the three kittens from the Aristocats- Marie, Toulouse and Berlioz (I was Berlioz!)

photo_5(1)photo_5 (3)photo_4 (3)photo_1(1)photo_3 (2)photo_2(1)photo_4(1)

We trick-or-treated, rode Space Mountain twice, and met Buzz Lightyear!! We also stopped for pumpkin spice waffles (or at least I did) rode It’s a Small World (which is always a must) and the Buzz Lightyear ride.

The next day, Saturday, was devoted to Epcot. Epcot is in the middle of its International Food and Wine festival. WHICH WAS AWESOME. Bre, Nick and I ate and drank our way around the world before meeting up with our friends, Doyle and her boyfriend Steve, Michelle and her boyfriend Nick and Nick’s friend Bender for hibachi in Japan. Delicious! photo_1 (4)photo_3 (4)photo_5 (4)photo_2 (4)photo_1 (5)photo_2 (5)photo_3 (5)photo_4 (5)photo_4 (2)photo_5 (5)photo_1(2)photo_2(2)

Sunday was our not-so-Disney day because it was spent in Universal Studios (our bus driver on our way back to our hotel yelled at us for double crossing Mickey.)

Universal is amazing, and the first place we went was Harry Potter World!! It was sooooooo cool, we got on the front of the line for the Hogwarts ride (which is unheard of because of how long the wait usually is) and then had Butterbeer and lunch in the Three Broomsticks. Afterwards we went on a couple rides, met a minion and then ate again at Krusty Burger in the Simpsons world. Finally, we rode the Jurassic Park ride, twice. I got soaked but it was awesome. on our way out, Nick and I got margaritas from Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville, for the bus ride home.

photo_3(2)photo_5 (7)photo_1 (2)photo_2 (2)photo_3photo_4photo_5 (3)photo_5 (2)photo_5photo_1 (3)photo_2 (3)photo_3 (3)photo_4 (3)

That night, Nick and I were supposed to go to dinner at the California Grille but I got sick so we stayed in our room, ordered pizza and watched the RedSox dominate in the bottom of the 8th. It was so much better than a fancy dinner, but I still think he was mad because apparently the food there is phenomenal. Oops.

Our last day in Florida was spent in Downtown Disney. There I was able to get souvenirs for the fam back home, eat a massive brownie sundae and hang out with Breanna for the little bit of time we had left together. This is the longest we’ve ever gone without seeing each other since we met. I don’t really like it but I’m so happy that she’s happy down there, even if that means she is so far away from me.

photo_1photo_2

The flight home was nothing special, although the guy in my row was plastered and told Nick how awesome the food was at the California Grille… OOOPSSSSS…again… My bad.

photo_3 (7)

Overall, the trip was amazing. It was the first real (flying) trip I’ve ever taken without my parents and I don’t think it could’ve gone better. I spent a ridiculous amount of money, but I definitely think it was worth it.

But really, who could be disappointed with Disney World, right?

Leave a Reply

