Some thoughts for today

I never knew what to believe when it came to love at first sight.

My mom believes wholeheartedly in it, saying that the first time she saw my father she knew she was going to marry him.

I just can’t believe it. Maybe it goes more on a case-by-case basis. I think that if “love at first sight” were a real phenomenon I would fall in love at least once a month.

But then again, I don’t even know what love is. I have no idea what it feels like to love someone so much¬†romantically that you put them before yourself, or your family. I don’t even know if I’m willing to feel that way. All I know is that today, I saw a boy about my age that, if I could, I would have fallen in love with, just by looking at him. He seemed perfect.

But what is perfect, anyway?

I feel like I get ahead of myself sometimes; my mind and heart move faster than my body or my mouth and I end up making a fool of myself. I try not to talk too often, just in case I can’t reel my thoughts back in before they become words.

I may look like an adult, but there is no way I can act like one. No matter how hard I try, I will always be a weird little 11 year old with a big heart and scraped up knees.

And oddly enough, I think I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

